PITTSBURGH (KDKA) — With the regular season just one week away, the Steelers announced both their practice squad and their team captains today.

Eight players have signed to the practice squad, according to team officials.

Those players include running back John Clay, wide receiver Tyler Grisham, tight end Jamie McCoy, two offensive linemen Trevis Turner and John Malecki, linebacker Mortty Ivy, defensive lineman Corbin Bryant and defensive back Da’Mon Cromartie-Smith.

As for the team captains, Hines Ward and Ben Roethlisberger have been named offensive co-captains.

The captains are selected through a vote of the team.

According to the Steelers, this is Ward’s seventh consecutive year as a co-captain. Roethlisberger previously served as a co-captain with Ward in 2008 and 2009.

For the eighth straight year, the Steelers say James Farrior has been named a captain of the defense.

Also, wide receiver Arnaz Battle will serve as captain for the special teams’ unit for the first time in his career, the team says.

The Steelers kick off the regular season next Sunday, Sept. 11 at 1 p.m. in Baltimore against the Ravens.

Pittsburgh Steelers
More Sports News

More From CBS Pittsburgh

Get The All New CBS Local App
KDKA Weather App

Watch & Listen LIVE