PITTSBURGH (93-7 The FAN) – For anyone who has watched Pitt play this year this should come as no surprise as senior forward Lamar Patterson has been named to the United States Basketball Writers Association Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List.

Patterson has led the Panthers to a 16-2 start good enough for second place in the ACC and a ranking of 19th in the USA Today Coaches Poll.

Patterson leads the Panthers in both scoring at 17.4 ppg and assists with 87 on the season.

Other notable Panthers who were up for this award were Billy Knight in 1973-74, both Jerome Lane and Charles Smith in 1987-88, Brandin Knight in both 2001-02 and 2002-03, and both DeJuan Blair and Sam Young in 2008-09.

The Oscar Robertson trophy honors the national college basketball player of the year and has been doing so since the 1958-59 season.

More Sports From The Fan
Like The Fan On Facebook
Follow The Fan On Twitter

Watch & Listen LIVE