It’s Back! Facebook Privacy Hoax Is Again Invading News Feeds

PITTSBURGH (KDKA) — A privacy post is going viral on Facebook (again) and it’s claiming that unless you share the following message, all of your photos, messages and private information will become public.

The message goes something like this: ‘Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you’ve ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook’s privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. Copy and paste.’

According to myth-busting site, this particular copyright-related post has been around since November 2012.

Facebook addressed the rumors years ago in a fact-checking blog post regarding the ownership of users’ information or content they post to the site.

“This is false. Anyone who uses Facebook owns and controls the content and information they post, as stated in our terms,” Facebook stated. “They control how that content and information is shared. That is our policy, and it always has been.”

In Facebook’s Statement of Rights and Responsibilities, the company also states that content published using the “Public” setting allows everyone, including non-Facebook users, to access that information. But if you set your content to “Private,” then the rules are different.

Last year, two similar privacy hoaxes resurfaced, causing users to believe their Facebook data would be made public if they didn’t copy/paste the false status.


One Comment

  1. Considering that Snopes, CBS, ABC, and other media sources who have tried to debunk this story are members of the Lamestream Media, and have often been found to publish lies and deceitful articles in support of their favorite candidates and causes (knowing full well that they are lying and deceitful), I believe the exact opposite of their claims. Go ahead and post it, folks…

  2. John Dole says:

    This hoax never went away. Why is kdka even reporting on this? Is this what is considered “news”?

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS Pittsburgh

Bringing You The Best in Sports Talk Radio
New Podcast Network

Listen Live