DALLAS, Texas (KDKA/AP) — The Steelers have quite a presence in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, but this year’s finalists from the black and gold were passed over in Saturday’s vote.

Both Jerome Bettis and Dermontti Dawson were on the short list of finalists.

READ MORE: Federal Regulators Expected To Authorize Mixing And Matching COVID-19 Booster Shots

“The Bus” hung up his cleats in 2006, and it was his first year of eligibility for the Hall of Fame.

Former Steelers center Dermontti Dawson, who had been a finalist past, was also passed over this year. Dawson spent his entire career with the Steelers from 1988 to 2000.

Deion Sanders and Marshall Faulk lead a class of seven who were voted into the Hall of Fame. Joining them are Shannon Sharpe, Richard Dent, Ed Sabol, Les Richter and Chris Hanburger.

READ MORE: Somerset County District Attorney Jeffrey Thomas Faces New Charges

Steelers’ fans were understandably disappointed that their favorites were left out, but say the competition is fierce. They also believe that both Steelers’ greats will eventually be recognized.

“Going up against a really tough class; one of the best classes in a really long time,” said fan James Lewis. “It’s has to be next time. I’m really disappointed that he’s not in, but seeing who did get in, you can’t be too disappointed with those guys. As a Steelers fan, next time, it has to be.”

“That’s probably the biggest thing, all the competition he’s going up against,” added fan Don Lambert. “I’m certain that he’ll probably make it in the next couple of years.”

MORE NEWS: COVID-19 In Pennsylvania: State Reports 3,899 New Cases, 64 Additional Deaths

The induction ceremonies are in August in Canton, Ohio.