By: Chris Gates

PITTSBURGH (93-7 The FAN) — It’s official.

If fans and the media want to complain about the Bowl Championship Series, they only have two more seasons to vent their frustrations.

NCAA Presidents approved a four-team playoff model to determine college football’s national champion Tuesday. The playoff system will begin with the 2014-15 football season.

The model will represent the NCAA basketball tournament in a couple of ways.

First, the playoff will be seeded much like the basketball tournament is in each regional, with the top seed getting the most favorable draw. The top seeded football team will face the No. 4 seed, and the No. 2 and No. 3 seeds will square off as the semi-final games.

The two winners will then play for the national championship.

The other way this playoff model resembles the basketball tournament is that the four teams will be selected by a committee.

Personally, I think a selection committee in football will cause some confusion and eventually give the fans and media something else to complain about. We constantly have complaints about teams getting left out in basketball, and that tournament has recently added teams. I wouldn’t be surprised if the same happens after several years of this football playoff.

Nevertheless, we’ll definitely get more closure at the end of each college football season, as there’s a way to separate the best team in the country from the rest with a playoff system.

In the end, that’s what we all wanted.

Next step? Get Pitt in that playoff.

More work lies ahead.

Chris Gates | Area 4-1-Zoo Blog