By: KDKA-TV News Staff

PITTSBURGH (KDKA) – Sunday morning was the deadline for NHL teams to submit their protected lists for the NHL Expansion Draft.

READ MORE: Pittsburgh Penguins 2021 Free Agency Tracker: Penguins Sign Defenseman Taylor Fedun

The Penguins have now officially announced who they will protect from the NHL’s 32nd franchise, the Seattle Kraken, from drafting.

The Penguins chose to take the option of protecting seven forwards, three defensemen, and one goalie.

Penguins Protected List


  • Teddy Blueger
  • Jeff Carter
  • Sidney Crosby
  • Jake Guentzel
  • Kasperi Kapanen
  • Evgeni Malkin
  • Bryan Rust


READ MORE: Penguins Head Coach Mike Sullivan Named 2022 USA Men's Olympic Hockey Head Coach
  • Brian Dumoulin
  • Kris Letang
  • Mike Matheson


  • Tristan Jarry

This list comes after the Penguins traded forward Jared McCann to the Toronto Maple Leafs on Saturday, who ultimately was left off of Toronto’s protected list, meaning the Kraken can draft McCann if they so choose.

Meanwhile, the available players to Seattle from the Penguins are as follows:


  • Pontus Aberg
  • Anthony Angello
  • Zach Aston-Reese
  • Josh Currie
  • Frederick Gaudreau
  • Mark Jankowski
  • Sam Lafferty
  • Sam Miletic
  • Evan Rodrigues
  • Colton Sceviour
  • Brandon Tanev
  • Jason Zucker


  • Cody Ceci
  • Kevin Czuczman
  • Mark Friedman
  • Jesper Lindgren
  • Andrey Pedan
  • Marcus Pettersson
  • Juuso Riikola
  • Chad Ruhwedel
  • Yannick Weber


MORE NEWS: Former Penguins Goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury Traded From Vegas To Chicago
  • Casey Desmith
  • Maxime Lagace

The 2021 NHL Expansion draft will be conducted on Wednesday, July 21 at 8:00 p.m. and will be broadcast on ESPN 2.