Head coach Chris Siegfried has told 93.7 The Fan that training camp for the Pittsburgh Power will begin Fri., Feb. 17.

Typically, Arena Football League training camps last two weeks, and unlike the NFL, preseason games are not mandatory. However, teams do have the option of scheduling one or two exhibition contests. (Last year the Power held a scrimmage with the division rival Cleveland Gladiators.)

READ MORE: Pennsylvania Lottery Saw Record Sales And Profit For Last Fiscal Year

Thirty-five players receive invitations to camp (see below). Siegfried will use those two weeks to decide which 24 will make the opening night roster. An AFL team is permitted to dress 21 for a game.

The Power hope this will be a more productive training camp than the one that preceded its inaugural season; this time, the coaching staff can spend more time training and evaluating the talent, and less time educating it.

Last year, with a new franchise, and roughly half a roster that had no arena football experience, Siegfried used the early stages of that first camp to screen old AFL films and do whatever he could to show players the intricacies of the sport. This year, the Power enter camp with more proven veteran talent as they try to build off a 9-9 campaign that saw them finish second in the American Conference’s East Division and barely miss the playoffs.

The Power open the 2012 season at Orlando against the Predators, a 2011 playoff participant, on Fri., Mar. 9, before hosting the division rival Philadelphia Soul two weeks later in the first of nine regular season home games at CONSOL Energy Center.

Be sure to revisit this site for more preseason Power coverage.


QB Bill Stull

QB Kyle Rowley

WR Mike Washington

WR Lonnell Dewalt

WR/KR P.J. Berry

WR Carlos Suggs

WR Darius Passmore

WR Perry Baker

WR Randy Hymes

WR Oderick Turner

OL Jason Jones

OL Mike Lucian

OL Mike Byrne

OL Joe Blanks

OL Justin Wells

READ MORE: Erie Man Jermall Johnson Wanted For Alleged Drug Trafficking Offenses Now In Custody

OL Corey Konycki

OL Dan Jones

OL Tommy Crowley

OL Beau Elliott

DL Tommie Duhart

DL Terrance Taylor

DL Dominie Pittman

DL Neil Purvis

DL Jada Brown

DL Aaron Harris

DL Callahan Bright

FB/LB Tyre Young

LB Anthony DeGrate

LB Justin Parrish

DB Bryan Williams

DB Tyrrell Herbert

DB Chris LeFlore

DB Ahmaad Smith

DB Knowledge Timmons

DB Ricky Gary

DB Josh Lay

K Taylor Rowan

MORE NEWS: Child Tax Credit: Monday Is Deadline To Opt Out Of Advance Monthly Payments

(Follow me on Twitter: twitter.com/mpopchock)