PITTSBURGH (KDKA/AP) — For the fourth year in a row, Jerome Bettis was eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame; and for the fourth year in a row, the former Steeler did not get in.

This year’s inductees will be Derrick Brooks, Michael Strahan, Walter Jones, Andre Reed and Aeneas Williams.

Also, Ray Guy became the first punter elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The other senior selection is defensive end Claude Humphrey.

The announcement was made Saturday night at NFL Honors, less than 24 hours before the Denver Broncos meet the Seattle Seahawks in the first Super Bowl in a non-domed stadium in a cold-weather city.

Before the official announcement, leaks began pouring out of the voting room in New York Saturday evening. That’s when word first came down about Bettis.

This was Bettis’ fourth year of eligibility.

He remains the sixth leading rusher in NFL history, and is tied for 10th in league history in touchdowns.

Still, that was not enough for the Hall of Fame voters.

Next year may not be any easier for Bettis. Among those eligible for the first time in 2015 – Kurt Warner, Edgerrin James and Junior Seau.

Another finalist with Steelers’ ties, Tony Dungy, did not get in either.

Guy, Brooks, Jones among 7 elected to Hall of Fame (2/1/14)
Bettis, Dungy On List Of Pro Football Hall Of Fame Finalists (1/9/14)
More Steelers News
More Sports News

Join The Conversation On The KDKA Facebook Page
Stay Up To Date, Follow KDKA On Twitter

(TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

Watch & Listen LIVE