WEST MIFFLIN (KDKA/AP) – Three of Kennywood’s roller coasters have now been named coaster landmarks by roller coaster enthusiasts.
The American Coaster Enthusiasts most recently named the Thunderbolt to the list, calling it a unique wooden coaster.READ MORE: Jury Deadlocked In Trial Of Former Restaurant Owner Accused Of Sexual Assault
Kennywood is now the only park in the United States with three coaster landmarks.
The group founded in 1978 has honored more than 30 coaster landmarks nationwide since 2002.
Kennywood’s Jack Rabbit and Racer roller coasters were previously honored as landmarks by the group.READ MORE: Pittsburgh Weather: Cold Front Begins Pushing Rain, Storms Into Area, Gusty Winds Possible
All three are traditional roller coasters with wooden frames and tracks.
The Thunderbolt grew out of a former roller coaster known as the Pippin. The Pippin was built in 1924 and was expanded and rebuilt to become the Thunderbolt in 1968.
The Jack Rabbit was built in 1920 and the Racer in 1927.
RELATED LINKSMORE NEWS: Panel Decides To Uphold School Masking Rule After State House GOP Seeks Review