PITTSBURGH (KDKA) — If you don’t stop for a school bus when its red lights are flashing, you could lose your license thanks to a new Canadian law.READ MORE: 100-Foot Slides At Mammoth Park To Reopen This Week
The law was passed in the Prince Edward Island province in Canada.
CBC News says drivers who don’t stop for a school bus will lose their license for three months and could face a fine of up to $5,000.READ MORE: Assistant Marching Band Director At Pennsylvania High School Charged With Distributing And Possessing Child Porn
The new law is set to take effect on Saturday.
CBC says the new law was passed in response to the number of incidents of children getting hit or nearly hit while getting on and off school buses.MORE NEWS: Pennsylvania Lawmaker Introduces Bill That Makes It Illegal For Any Employer To Require Workers To Be Vaccinated
To get their license back, drivers would reportedly have to meet with highway safety officials, pay a $100 reinstatement fee and take a defensive driving course within six months of getting their license reinstated.