By: Mike Vukovcan

Pittsburgh (KDKA)- Does Garry Bettman and the NHL plan on changing to a four-division league instead of the current six?

That’s the word according to The Sporting News.

The NHL has to realign because of the addition of the Winnipeg Jets and reducing divisions might be their plan.

Whatever change is agreed upon will get voted on during December’s Board of Governors meeting.

This new plan would return scheduling to a balanced format where all teams play every other team at least twice, guaranteeing a home and road game against every opponent.

How would the playoffs work?

Under the plan, the top four teams in each division would move on. The first round will be only divisional games, then they would re-seed for the conference semifinals.

Here’s the speculation on what the divisions would look like:

Western Conference:

Pacific Division: Vancouver, Calgary, Edmonton, San Jose, Los Angeles, Anaheim, Phoenix

Central Division: Winnipeg, Minnesota, Colorado, Chicago, St. Louis, Nashville, Dallas

Eastern Conference:

North Division: Montreal, Toronto, Ottawa, Buffalo, Boston, NY Rangers, NY Islanders, New Jersey

South Division: Detroit, Columbus, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, Washington, Carolina, Tampa Bay, Florida

Watch & Listen LIVE