PITTSBURGH (KDKA) — The Pittsburgh Penguins have released the list of players who will be both available and protected in the 2017 NHL expansion draft.

The NHL says that Bryan Rust, Carl Hagelin, Tom Kuhnhackl, Scott Wilson, Ian Cole and Marc-Andre Fleury are among the players being unprotected by the Penguins.

Among those being protected are Sidney Crosby, Evgeni Malkin, Phil Kessel, Patric Hornqvist, Kris Letang, Justin Shultz, Brian Dumolin, Olli Maatta, and Matt Murray.

Here are the rules for the expansion draft.

The players selected by the Vegas Golden Knights will be revealed during the 2017 NHL Awards and Expansion Draft on Wednesday.

Vegas will begin playing next season in the Western Conference.

Here is a look at the full list of players being made available by the Penguins:

Josh Archibald (F)
Nick Bonino (F)
Matt Cullen (F)
Jean-Sebastien Dea (F)
Carl Hagelin (F)
Tom Kuhnhackl (F)
Chris Kunitz (F)
Kevin Porter (F)
Bryan Rust (F)
Tom Sestito (F)
Oskar Sundqvist (F)
Dominik Uher (F)
Garrett Wilson (F)
Scott Wilson (F)
Ian Cole (D)
Frank Corrado (D)
Trevor Daley (D)
Tim Erixon (D)
Cameron Gaunce (D)
Ron Hainsey (D)
Stuart Percy (D)
Derrick Pouliot (D)
Chad Ruhwedel (D)
Mark Streit (D)
David Warsofsky (D)
Marc-Andre Fleury (G)

As the Penguins cleaned out their lockers earlier this week, Fleury reflected on his career in Pittsburgh, knowing it was likely the end of his time here.

“It’s been such a long time, great memories. I’ve met a lot of great people. It feels like home for me,” Fleury said.


Fleury and his teammates became emotional as they talked about his possible departure.

“It’ll be tough. It’s something that I don’t even like having to talk about it. I think playing with someone that long, going through what we did is pretty special. We’ve got some great memories and we’ll see what happens with things in the future,” Sidney Crosby said.

Join The Conversation On The KDKA Facebook Page
Stay Up To Date, Follow KDKA On Twitter

Watch & Listen LIVE